Determined finalists at the Matmen Open; Amine v Hall finals set at 184; tight team race taking place in wrestlers

Myles Amine of Michigan with his arm raised at the Matmen Open. Olympic medalist Amine will face Mark Hall in a featured final Thursday night. Photo by Sam Janicki.

HOFFMAN ESTATES, Ill. – Finals have been set for the inaugural Matmen Open, which featured a dramatic morning session on Thursday with semi-finals and consolations.

Two of the world’s best freestyle wrestlers will face off in folk style in the 184-pound final. Myles Amine of Michigan, who won a bronze medal at the 2020 Olympics for San Marino, will face two-time junior world champion and senior United States champion Mark Hall of RTC Pennsylvania. Amine is ranked # 2 in Div. I now. Hall graduated from Penn State, where he won an NCAA title, and now trains in Philadelphia for the PRTC.

Three teams pushed three athletes to the gold medal finals, Penn, Pitt and Wisconsin. These are the top three teams in the standings as the consolation rounds are contested to set up the other medal games.

Penn’s three finalists are nationally ranked # 33 Ryan Miller (125), unranked CJ Composto (141) and # 20 Doug Zapf (157).

Penn entered two wrestlers at 141, with Composto and Carmen Ferrante # 32. To reach the final, Composto took a 7-5 victory over No.24 Cole Matthews of Pitt. Composto will face Rutgers’ Sebastian Rivera, ranked No.4, in the final. Ferrante struggled to return to the game for seventh place.

Miller shot No.29 Justin Cardiani of Illinois in the final, while Zapf will face No.28 Elijah Cleary of Pitt in the final.

Pitt’s finalists include Cleary, # 6 Micky Philippi (133) and # 2 Nino Bonaccorsi (197). Cleary reached the final when Purdue’s # 10 Kendall Coleman retired from competition today after advancing to the semi-finals last night.

Philippi will face No.7 Lucas Byrd of Illinois in the final, while Bonaccorsi shot No.12 Greg Bulsak of Rutgers.

The Wisconsin semi-finalists are No.11 Austin Gomez (149), No.17 Dean Hamiti (165) and No.5 Trent Hilger. Gomez will take on Campbell’s No.10 Josh Heil in the final, while Hamiti will face Harvard No.14 Philip Conigliaro and Hilger will face Ethan Laird, who competes alone from Rider.

One runner-up who is not in college at the moment is Edmond Ruth, who will face No. 30 Mason Kauffman of northern Illinois for the 174-pound title. Ruth is no longer with Lehigh wrestling and competing independently.

The event is broadcast live on Rokfin, on the Illinois Matmen channel. Fans wishing to follow the media can check them out HERE.

The event was created and produced by wrestling leaders including Willie Saylor, Izzy Martinez, Illinois Matmen and Frank Popolizio who escalated after the Midlands Championships were canceled on December 22.

Tournament concludes finals and medal matches at 6:00 p.m. CT

In Hoffman Estates, Illinois.

Final matches (with the most recent InterMat rankings)
125 – # 33 Ryan Miller (Penn) vs. # 29 Justin Cardani (Illinois)
133 – # 7 Lucas Byrd (Illinois) vs. # 6 Micky Philippi (Pitt)
141 – # 4 Sebastian Rivera (Rutgers) v CJ Composto (Penn) unranked
149 – # 10 Josh Heil (Campbell) vs. # 11 Austin Gomez (Wisconsin)
157 – # 28 Elijah Cleary (Pitt) vs. # 20 Doug Zapf (Penn)
165 – # 14 Philip Conigliaro (Harvard) vs. # 17 Dean Hamiti (Wisconsin)
174 – # 30 Mason Kauffman (Northern Illinois) vs. Edmond Ruth (unattached) **
184 – Mark Hall (Pennsylvania RTC) ** against # 2 Myles Amine (Michigan)
197 – # 2 Nino Bonaccorsi (Pitt) against # 12 Greg Bulsak (Rutgers)
285 – # 5 Trent Hilger (Wisconsin) vs. Ethan Laird (Unattached Rider)
** – Not in college

Results of the semi-finals

Ryan Miller (Penn) Dec. Dylan Shawver (Rutgers), 5-3, SV1
Justin Cardani (Illinois) Dec. Antonio Lorenzo (Cal Poly), 3-1

Lucas Byrd (Illinois) Dec. Drew Mattin (Michigan), 8-3
Micky Philippi (Pitt) maj. Dec. Carter Bailey (Lehigh), 11-3

Sebastian Rivera (Rutgers) maj. Dec. Joseph Zargo (Wisconsin), 11-1
CJ Composto (Penn) Dec. Cole Matthews (Pitt), 7-5

Josh Heil (Campbell) Dec. Anthony White (single-Rutgers), 2-0
Austin Gomez (Wisconsin) maj. Dec. Anthony Artalona (Penn), 17-4

Elijah Cleary (Pitt) won by forfeit against Kendall Coleman (Purdue)
Doug Zapf (Penn) Dec. Alex Carida (Bloomsburg), 3-1

Philip Conigliaro (Harvard) Dec. Jake Wentzel (Pitt), 1-0
Dean Hamiti (Wisconsin) pins Zach Hartman (Bucknell), 5:51

Mason Kauffman (Northern Illinois) Dec. Reece Heller (Hofstra), 5-2
Edmond Ruth (unattached) Dec. Manuel Rojas (unattached), 11-6

Mark Hall (Pennsylvania RTC) Dec. Bernie Truax (Cal Poly), 7-3
Myles Amine (Michigan) Dec. Britt Wilson (Northern Illinois), 7-0

Nino Bonaccorsi (Pitt) maj. Dec. Ryan Reyes (Oregon State), 10-2
Greg Bulsak (Rutgers) Dec. Braxton Amos (Wisconsin), 6-2

Trent Hilger (Wisconsin) maj. Dec. Jake Slinger (Pitt), 10-2
Ethan Laird (unattached rider) pins Luke Luffman (Illinois), 3:51

Source link


About Author

Comments are closed.