UFC 280 loses Magomed Mustafaev-Yamato Nishikawa lightweight fight

0

[ad_1]

An intriguing lightweight showdown between Magomed Mustafaev and Yamato Nishikawa won’t happen at UFC 280 as originally planned.

The Las Vegas-based promotion confirmed the cancellation on Tuesday, citing “several issues” in a statement. It was initially
rumored
that the fight was abandoned because Nishikawa was still under contract with another organization, but the Japanese fighter denied this information.

Order UFC 280 “Oliveira vs. Makhachev” exclusively on ESPN+

UFC 280 will move forward with 13 fights. The card takes place at the Etihad Arena in Abu Dhabi on Saturday and is headlined by a lightweight title clash between Charles Oliveira and Islam Makhachev. The main card airs pay-per-view via ESPN+ starting at 2 p.m. ET / 11 a.m. PT, while the prelims air on ESPN and ESPN+ at 10 a.m. ET / 7 a.m. PT.

Mustafaev has not competed since February 2020, when he dropped a split decision to Brad Riddell at UFC Fight Night 168. The 34-year-old Russian is 3-2 in the UFC and 14- 3 as a professional.

Nishikawa, 19, has already gained plenty of experience at a young age, compiling a professional mark of 21-3-6 since his debut in 2016. The Shooto veteran has won his last 14 fights.


[ad_2]
Source link

Share.

About Author

Comments are closed.