Women’s Wrestling Hall of Fame is coming soon



A new Women’s Wrestling Hall of Fame is coming to fruition thanks to documentarian Christopher Annino. The Hall of Fame will focus on a variety of women’s wrestling, including Olympic style, freestyle and NCAA.

Annino told SlamWrestling.net, “We’ve been debating it for a long time and we’re going to call it the Women’s Wrestling Hall of Fame, so it’s not women’s pro wrestling. We’re also including in the Olympic style real, freestyle, Olympic style and of course anything to do with the NCAA right now because women’s wrestling is starting to become a pretty big thing in the NCAA.

They will partner with the International Pro Wrestling Hall of Fame in Albany, NY. By partnering with the IPWHF, they will have a physical location for the Women’s Wrestling Hall of Fame. It will be at the MVP Arena. There will be plaques and a display area to display the inductees.

Inaugural inductees into the Women’s Wrestling Hall of Fame

The inaugural class will consist of various legends. The modern class will include two-time WWE Women’s Champion and former NWA Women’s Champion Jazz. Rita Chatterton, who was the WWF’s first female referee, will also be inducted.

Rounding out the inductees are Luna Vachon, Ethel Johnson, Babs Wingo, Marva Scott, Mildred Burke, Susan “Tex” Green, Beverly Shade and the team of Donna Christanello and Toni Rose.

2004 gold medalist Iryna Merleni will also be inducted. The Gorgeous Ladies of Wrestling (GLOW) will also be honored.

According to the website, the credentials for the election are as follows:

-1800s to 1910s before the radio era

-The radio era of the 1920s to 1950s

-The TV era of the 1950s to 1970s

-The era of modern television from the 1980s to 2000s

-The internet era of the 2000s

There will also be four categories: pioneer, amateur, professional and non-wrestling.

On December 17, 2022, Jazz will be inducted during Icons of Wrestling at the famed ECW Arena. Annino says indications will likely occur in other places.

Source link


About Author

Comments are closed.